I see to many Photographers forget that they are not just artists, but are also in business. Businesses grow through partnerships. The vendors I use, I use them not only because they care about their reputation, but the also care about my own. The better the product/service they give me, the better I am able to provide, the more I am able to do, and ultimately the more I am able to use them!

One of the most important aspects of attending any major trade show or convention is getting to know the vendors you work with most. I’m not talking about the services or products they offer, but getting to know them personally. This industry is built on relationships. In fact, WHCC many of the photographers I work closest with today are thanks to WHCC’s suggestions, one of them being Vicki Taufer when she was just getting started.

Your network needs to include every vendor who’s important to you. Every vendor in this industry is talking to hundreds of photographers every week. The experience they possess goes well beyond their products. It’s always best to meet them in person, but you don’t have to wait until the next convention – use the phone!

Another important aspect to this post is how you build your relationships with your own clients. As Chris writes, “…building…

View original post 702 more words

About Leighton DaCosta, Photographer

International Wedding, Portrait, and Fashion photographer based in Miramar, Florida. Also a Pilot and a LEAN technician. View all posts by Leighton DaCosta, Photographer

Leave a Reply

